September 19, 2019

March 8, 2019

February 8, 2019

January 5, 2019

December 14, 2018

October 6, 2018

Please reload

Recent Posts

How To Start Your Yoga Practice, at home or at the studio

July 12, 2019

Please reload

Featured Posts

The Chakras

October 6, 2018

The seven chakras are one of the core teachings of yogic philosophy that can be related to the Catholic faith. The seven chakras correlate to seven different areas of the body located along the spinal cord. A chakra, meaning “circle” in sanskrit, is said to be an energy center that can provide insight to the mind and body’s well-being. The seven chakras are usually named by their location: the root chakra, the sacral chakra, the solar plexus (the middle of the body located at the stomach), the heart chakra, the throat chakra, the third eye chakra, and the crown chakra.



Developed by those apart of Eastern cultures, the chakra system is an explanation for physical and mental illnesses. Chakras are commonly described as metaphysical descriptors of the body. Imagine this connection similar to the practice of reflexology, explained as areas of the feet connecting to parts of the body, and psychology, the intangible behaviors that connect the mind to the body. Chakras invite the study of discovering root issues of a person whether that be poor health or ill thoughts. Surveying the chakras can also clarify certain aspects of a personality and their nature of being, or as Catholics know it to be the soul.


The chakra belief system is considered to be communication from the universe to interpret the more divine aspects of the human body. Many chakra practitioners believe that that the universe is the divine while Catholics believe that God is the true divinity. The chakra system is a reservoir of wisdom for Catholics because it hones in on the importance of a human connection with the divine. In this way, the idea of the chakras mimics the Catholic belief and appreciation of divinity in our souls.  This is a great example of the many parallels between two seemingly contrary belief systems.  Chakras give knowledge to the person by self-reflection on their divine essence in the universe the same way that Catholics self-reflect on their divine essence as through Jesus Christ.  The meditation on the chakras is said to be a purely mystical experience much like self-reflection in prayer. In both the teachings of the chakras and the Catholic Church, the body is inherently good though flawed by means that were not of the Divine. Both beliefs hold immense value to the human dignity through a sacred connection.  The Catholic understanding of a soul is similar to this idea in that our divinity is the soul which was created by God in coherence with the body of Christ knitted together by the energy-power of the Holy Spirit.


This post is not dedicated to promoting the belief of the chakras rather it is an explanation of Eastern philosophies and how those philosophies can enhance a Catholic spiritual practice and see that we’re not that different at all.


Peace and Namaste,



Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Follow Us
Please reload

Search By Tags